PDA

View Full Version : Inetsrv9 Blacklisted in Yahoo?


Star Child
05-02-2004, 05:36 AM
All emails sent to Yahoo have been ending up in the Bulk folder for the last couple of days. Investigating the headers I found this:

X-YahooFilteredBulk: 69.90.122.135

Is Inetsrv9 being blacklisted, and why? What' the remedy short of having to add trusted addresses to the list of contacts.

admin
05-02-2004, 08:55 AM
Are these messages being sent via pop or webmail?

Star Child
05-02-2004, 09:10 AM
My own original test was sent via POP (Mozilla Mail). I just did another test using webmail. Same result.

admin
05-02-2004, 09:15 AM
Unfortunately, that question ultimately has to be reflected back to yahoo as they are choosing to place your valuable email in their junk message folders. To date there have been NO spam complaints against our server or netblock.

Star Child
05-03-2004, 01:48 AM
So is this the IP being blocked or only my addresses?

admin
05-03-2004, 07:49 AM
I don't know that I can answer that question. That is something that Yahoo has to answer.

bellgamin
05-08-2004, 03:32 AM
Here's what Yahoo's "help" says concerning the bulk folder...

What is the Bulk folder?

When SpamGuard is on, messages that trip its "spam alarm" are automatically directed to the Bulk folder - which reduces the amount of spam you receive in your Inbox.

Why are messages I want occasionally directed to my Bulk folder?

Yahoo! makes a concerted effort to deliver solicited commercial and personal email directly to your Inbox. If you believe that a message delivered to your Bulk folder is more appropriately delivered to your Inbox, please select the message(s) and click the "Not spam" button above your messages.

Yahoo's SpamGuard is turned on by default. Turning it off requires a bit of thinking by the user. For *free* accounts SpamGuard can't be configured, & there is no white list, as such. Instead, a user must check his bulk folder & click each message that isn't spam.

I sent several test messages to Yahoo addresses from my server 9 sites, & they all went to bulk folders. This may or may not indicate that server 9 has gotten onto a DNSBL. I checked a couple of the major blacklisting outfits, & server 9 wasn't on them. But there are other DNSBL's which are far more *big brotherish* that I couldn't check so... who knows.

I doubt that we're blacklisted, but I do hope that AOH has good controls to prevent spammers from using any of its servers for their nefarious purposes. One spammer could screw up the works for all of us.

An effective control that I've seen is one that blocks outgoing messages in excess of 200/hour, unless special arrangements have been made with the host. Others use throttles, so that a certain time interval must elapse between each outgoing message.

grace & peace to all.......bellgamin

burnsber
05-09-2004, 03:27 PM
We need to issue complaints to Yahoo until they change this. Does anyone know how to do that? They don't make a complaints email easy to find on their web site...

Eric

burnsber
05-09-2004, 03:33 PM
We need to issue complaints to Yahoo until they change this. Does anyone know how to do that? They don't make a complaints email easy to find on their web site...

Eric

Okay, we can complain here:

http://add.yahoo.com/fast/help/us/mail/cgi_spamguardplus

Everyone please do, Yahoo will probably ignore us unless they get a number of complaints.

Eric

admin
05-09-2004, 05:08 PM
I have also issued a complaint as owner of the IP sub block.

burnsber
05-11-2004, 11:20 PM
Update: email still being blocked, no reply from yahoo regarding my request to be unblocked. Still unable to email anyone with a yahoo.com address.

If anyone gets any kind of reply from Yahoo, please post it here. Thanks!

Eric

admin
05-12-2004, 08:57 AM
Has this changed from being placed in the bulk mail folder to being blocked completely?

admin
05-12-2004, 10:22 AM
Interestingly enough, I sent a message to my yahoo account, saw that it landed in the bulk mail folder, I clicked "Not Spam" and now messages I send to myself are landing in the inbox.

admin
05-12-2004, 01:00 PM
To make this a little more interesting, now that I reported a message from my server as "not spam" I created a new account on yahoo and sent it a message. The message arrived in the inbox. Can anyone do some further testing for me?

bellgamin
05-12-2004, 03:28 PM
I sent another test message. Again, it went to "bulk." I clicked "not spam" & retested. Second message went to inbox.

The fact that my first retest again went to "bulk" indicates that Danny's reclassification of his message as not spam didn't improve the situation for ALL Yahoo accounts.

Perhaps if lots of folks did what Danny & I did, it would change the status of server 9 with Yahoo. Be that as it may, the question still remains as to what caused server 9 to get into this situation in the first place?

I find it ironic that Yahoo is getting stringent on INcoming spam, whereas a high percentage of the spam hitting my mailboxes comes from folks with Yahoo addresses. NOT spoofs {I know how to check for that} but REALLY from Yahoo accounts. Thus far, complaints I sent to Yahoo have drawn a stone-wall.

bellgamin
05-12-2004, 05:48 PM
Checking blacklist data base at...
http://www.openrbl.org/

Query bl.spamcop.net - 69.90.122.135
69.90.122.135 is inetsrv9.gahost.com
(Help) (Trace IP) (Senderbase lookup)

69.90.122.135 not listed in bl.spamcop.net

SpamCop has no record of this system

Checking 150 blacklist data bases at...
http://dnsstuff.com/tools/ip4r.ch?ip=69.90.122.135

All those DNSBLs that connected showed serv 9 as either "Not Listed" {which is good} or "Honorable" {which is even gooder, I guess.}

If you can't go directly to the same search that I did at dnsstuff, then start at the home page -- http://www.dnsstuff.com -- & enter the IP for server 9 at the top-middle box.

TO REPEAT- I find no evidence that server 9 is on one of the mainstream DNSBL's. It's a Yahoo thing we have going here. Yahoo's spam engine/policies are junk {as are those of AOL & Earthlink}. May all their teeth fall out except one {which they should keep for toothache}.

admin
05-12-2004, 08:02 PM
Again, I will note that I opened a new account and sent it a message from my domain and it didn't land in spam either. So I am not sure exactly how that factors in, but is interesting none the less.

admin
05-12-2004, 08:03 PM
Here is the auto-reply I got from Yahoo.

Hello,

Thank you for contacting Yahoo! Customer Care.

We are looking into any difficulties you have reported and we apologize
for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please note that it may
take a day or two for any changes we may employ to take full effect.

If you notice any further difficulties with delivering to Yahoo! Mail
accounts after this time, please let us know by replying to this email.
Please provide the text of any error messages you may have received or a
copy of the email (with the full headers) that was delivered to the Bulk
Mail folder, whichever is applicable. Also, by providing the specific IP
address of the mail server that experienced the delivery issue, it will
help us to troubleshoot the issue efficiently.


Thank you again for contacting Yahoo! Customer Care.

burnsber
05-15-2004, 04:05 PM
FYI, I just sent my Yahoo account an email, and it was NOT filtered. Hopefully that means that we're no longer blacklisted. Thanks to everyone who took the time to contact Yahoo! - have a great weekend.

Eric :)